Planetary Delight: Waning Crescent Moon, Mercury, Jupiter, Mars, and Venus

After I was diagnosed with Lupus, I have to stay in the hospital for a few weeks. I missed a lot of astronomy related activities such as the observation of the Sept 28, 2015 total lunar eclipse and participation in any World Space Week celebration this year.

I don’t want to lose hope and get depressed because of my illness. All the more that I should think positive. And thanks to everyone who prayed for me, I have this inner strength to fight and live a normal life. I thank God for another chance to be alive!

Recently, I’ve been seeing a lot of pictures of the October 2015 planetary grouping of the moon and the four of the five naked-eye planets (yes, just missing Saturn!). I was discharged two days ago so I was hoping I could observe it from my room. Unfortunately, I was clouded out during those two days. I sort of gave up and didn’t expect to witness the planetary grouping.

I hardly slept today because of the cold. The temperature since last night was below 5 degrees! Then I woke up at 7 am and surprised to see the very thin waning crescent moon and the four planets hanging in the eastern sky. The celestial view was truly breathtaking!

October 11, 2015 Planetary conjunction by erika valdueza on 500px.com

October 11, 2015 Planetary conjunction by erika valdueza on 500px.com

I’m also amazed with the close pairing of the crescent moon and Mercury. Mercury is not easy to spot in the sky because it’s very near the sun. Moreover, it’s usually located near the horizon where the atmosphere is usually turbulent and makes it hard to see. But not today…

Mercury and Crescent Moon by erika valdueza on 500px.com

Close pairing of the crescent moon and Mercury by erika valdueza on 500px.com

Mercury and Crescent Moon by erika valdueza on 500px.com

Mercury and the 3% lit crescent Moon by erika valdueza on 500px.com

It’s indeed a delight to see such beauty from the heavens. I believe God is comforting me and telling me everything will be okay…

To God be the glory! To the stars!

~ by Stella's Gaze on October 12, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
