Comet Lovejoy 2013

My boyfriend and I tried our luck to see Comet Lovejoy on Saturday morning. It’s been cloudy for weeks now in Metro Manila so seeing lots of stars and a clear sky would be a big thing for us. Thankfully, we noticed the sky was clearing as we near Manila Observatory.

I saw Comet Lovejoy in constellation Bootes by checking Sky Safari’s night sky map and using a 7×50 binoculars. It was also very easy to find the comet because of its fuzzy texture.

Sky Safari night sky map on Dec. 1, 2013 at 4 am

Here’s my not-so-good image of C/2013 R1 (Lovejoy):

C/2013 R1 (Lovejoy)

I used Canon 50D with 55-250mm lens to image the comet. I think it would be better if I use a telescope, but it depends if I still have time this week.

To the stars!

~ by Stella's Gaze on November 30, 2013.

2 Responses to “Comet Lovejoy 2013”

  1. hello there. I am a fellow filipino like you too. and it’s amazing to know that you yourself has seen the amazing comet lovejoy. but can it be seen in the naked eye this coming december 4 to 31?

    • I am not sure if it will reach nakad eye visibility this december as its position in the sky becomes lower and lower each day and you have to find it before sunrise. I will try this weekend to see again the comet (weather permitting) and I’ll let you know if there’s a significant change in its brightness. ūüôā

Leave a Reply

 
