Galileo’s view of Saturn

Saturn’s opposition this year was last April 28, 2013. I planned to take images of the planet on that day but didn’t proceed due to poor weather. On the night of April 30, my boyfriend and I went to PAGASA Observatory to try our luck to observe and image the planet using Galileo (my C8 scope). Thanks to my man, I was able to carry my gear and successfully maneuvered my scope to see the planet on my computer screen.

To date, this is my best image of Saturn:

Equipment: Celestron 8″ Schmidt-Cassegrain telescope on CG5-GT mount + 2x barlow + SPC900NC Toucam

Image Processing done in Registax 6, Autostakkert 2.1.5, GIMP, and Adobe Photoshop CS5

I just find it funny that my Galileo viewed Saturn like what Galileo Galilei did 400 years ago.🙂

To the stars!

~ by Stella's Gaze on April 30, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
