July 15, 2012 Planetary Conjunction of the Crescent Moon, Jupiter, and Venus

I have mentioned about the Best Planetary Conjunctions in 2012 and one of them was the Crescent Moon, Jupiter, and Venus in predawn sky on July 15-16, 2012.

Around 1 am this morning, I was undecided where to go to see the planetary conjunction. I didn’t want to miss the event, but I have to consider my safety since it is NOT advisable to observe alone and drive in the wee hours of the morning. Eventually, the urge to proceed heightened when the weather condition improved.

I was choosing between U.P. Diliman and any place nearby. Since I have a vague idea where exactly that “any place nearby” was, I finally drove to U.P. at 3 am while fighting sleep for the next 20 minutes. (Please don’t do this if you have the tendency to sleep while driving). I brought my two cameras (Lulu and Conan) and tripod.

I immediately saw the planetary conjunction on my way to U.P. Diliman. Thanks to this breathtaking view, it kept me awake until I reached the PAGASA Astronomical Observatory inside the campus.

Here are my images:

I’ve been viewing planetary conjunctions since 2007. I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of it.🙂

To the stars!

~ by Stella's Gaze on July 15, 2012.

2 Responses to “July 15, 2012 Planetary Conjunction of the Crescent Moon, Jupiter, and Venus”

  1. Nicely done! I rarely get to see the morning sky… unless my work schedule has me finishing at dawn… which occasionally happens!

  2. Nice…that is exactly what i saw at 4 AM this morning while preparing to go biking….like the one seen near the observatory….

Leave a Reply

 
