My Passion for Astronomy and the Internet

I started this Astronomy blog in 2008 when I was 22 years old (that’s why the URL address is theskyabove22). During that time, I could hardly see blogs or websites about Philippine Astronomy. I had the idea then that maybe through blogging, I could somehow promote Astronomy in the Philippines and be easily searched in the internet.

I noticed that people who know their passion in life have the desire to share what they love to do. Since I am a very shy person, I realized the power and potential of the internet to reach out without having to face people and give lectures. This is the reason why I started out a blog that contains all my night sky observations, images, and experiences related to Astronomy with the hope of reaching out to the public through internet and social network.

Philippine Astronomy has changed since then. Social networking (e.g. blogs, Facebook, Twitter,  Multiply, Plurk, and etc.) has revolutionized Filipinos’ awareness and interest in Astronomy. For example, astronomical events visible over the Philippines can be easily found on web search engines. Thanks to my fellow Filipino astronomy enthusiasts and amateur astronomers who keep sharing and linking astronomy news, images, and information through their  blogs, websites and social network accounts. Kudos also to all of them who hold public events, observations and lectures where everyone is invited (and for free!).

As I’ve said, passionate people never get tired of sharing to others what they love to do. Although I no longer have the luxury to do Astronomy and blog about it like a few years back, I will still find a way; but I’ll be a LOT happier if more people, especially the younger ones, will do the same (or in their own way) to promote and share their love for Astronomy.🙂

To the stars!

~ by Stella's Gaze on July 13, 2012.

4 Responses to “My Passion for Astronomy and the Internet”

  1. That’s awesome🙂 I’m glad you have this blog!

  2. Keep it up ate erika! ^___^ I love reading your blog.😀

Leave a Reply

 
