Transit of Venus Viewing in New York City

I went to the Venus Transit viewing at Riverside Park in New York City organized by Amateur Astronomers Association of New York. I was supposed to watch a live webcast of the event from the Philippines but I decided to take my chance despite the poor weather forecast in New York. God must have heard my plea of seeing this once-in-a-lifetime event. I observed and imaged the transit using a simple setup and at the same time shared the view with  people from different countries…

It was very cloudy but I managed to take a few images of the transit:

6:21pm EST

6:29pm EST

7:11pm EST

Kindly visit my Facebook page for more pictures of my observation experience: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.400665843308845.84147.100000962974581&type=3

Special thanks to my sister who accompanied me to this event. I won’t make it without her help and support. 🙂

Equipment: Celestron Travel Scope (70mm), Baader Solar Filter, Panasonic DMC-LX5

~ by Stella's Gaze on June 10, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
