First Light of Venus

Since I didn’t bring my equipment from the Philippines, my first plan was to watch the live webcast of the Venus Transit back home. The best view was, of course, from the Philippines!

I have no intention of buying new equipment just to observe the Venus Transit until I saw the Celestron Solar Observer 70mm TravelScope. At such an affordable price (100 dollars = 4000 php), I can have a simple setup where I can observe and take pictures of the sun and the rare event!

My new equipment and its first light…🙂

Days before the Venus Transit, I checked the scope’s quality by observing the moon (without filter) and the sun (with filter for safety). The scope’s optics showed crisp views of the celestial objects. The tripod was flimsy, although it can still handle the weight of the optical tube. If the OTA is a bit heavier, the tripod will be useless.

As remembrance of witnessing the historic and rare Venus Transit, I named it Venus.🙂

Overall, I recommend this telescope for those who prefer portability and grab-and-go scope for travel.

To the stars!

~ by Stella's Gaze on May 23, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
