Orion Nebula – 1, 2, 3!

Orion Nebula is the best celestial object to practice deep-sky imaging by beginners like me. ūüôā So far, I am doing quite well – I hope, haha! It is through practice that I’ve learned the importance of calibrating (e.g. polar and drift alignment) my mount to avoid noise (such as star trails) in long-exposure images and to save money (autoguiders are too expensive!).

Below are my three images of the Orion Nebula:

My first try to image Orion Nebula at prime focus. Star trails were apparent. (Dec. 7, 2011)

Second try with 15 seconds exposure. No polar alignment and unguided. (Jan. 21, 2012)

My third try with 45 seconds exposure. No star trails but mount was poorly polar-aligned. (Jan. 25, 2012)

As you can see, there is a sign of improvement but I’m still getting there. I need ample time to practice!

Here’s another image where I changed the perspective and slightly enhanced the color of the Orion Nebula:

I prefer this color enhancement, haha! (Jan. 25, 2012)

Aside from time, I also need clear skies and good weather to practice! I hope this year will be a lot better for observation compared last year.

To the stars! ūüôā

~ by Stella's Gaze on February 13, 2012.

2 Responses to “Orion Nebula – 1, 2, 3!”

  1. wow, I can’t wait to get my own gadgets..wla pa kasing budget. I’ll take this as an inspiration.

  2. Wow! Keep it up idol! ūüôā

Leave a Reply

 
