Tribute to Dr. Dante L. Ambrosio, Historian and Father of Philippine EthnoAstronomy

Dr. Dante Ambrosio, Philippine historian and Father of Ethnoastronomy passed away last June 4, 2011.

I am sad that I never met him in person but still thankful that I know him through his works and passion for Philippine astronomy. I will also never forget the day when I first learned about him.

Four years ago, I was doing my research for a Filipino subject at the College of Arts and Letters Library in U.P. Diliman. I saw this book containing collection of articles written in Filipino. I couldn’t remember the title of the book and the reason why it was published, but I only remembered Dr. Dante Ambrosio’s article. It caught my attention because I learned that early Filipinos have their own way of naming constellations. I was so excited reading his article and even photocopied it. I have my copy till now.

my copy of Dr. Dante Ambrosio's article

In 2009,  Ethnoastronomy was one of the main themes in celebrating the International Year of Astronomy in the Philippines. This was the reason why I always see his name in Philippine Daily Inquirer. I kept a list of these news articles and you can read them here.

Last Tuesday, I went to the Parish of the Holy Sacrifice in U.P. Diliman to pay my respect and see Dr. Dante Ambrosio for the (first) last time. It was unfortunate that I failed to contact him before. I have plans to talk to him through email four years ago, but I was so shy then. I never had the chance.

Pagpupugay Parangal para kay Dr. Dante Ambrosio sa Parish of the Holy Sacrifice, U.P. Diliman

Even so, I am glad that he is now with our God. I am sure he is enjoying the beauty of the stars in heaven.

Thank you and goodbye for now, Dr. Dante.

Note: You may read his book entitled “Balatik” at http://journals.upd.edu.ph/index.php/pssr/article/viewFile/1287/1833 or buy the hard copy at UP Diliman Press.

~ by Stella's Gaze on June 9, 2011.

One Response to “Tribute to Dr. Dante L. Ambrosio, Historian and Father of Philippine EthnoAstronomy”

  1. oh my.. that’s sad.. His work on Ethnoastronomy, the Mamahi, was part of my RRL in my thesis… May he rest in peace

Leave a Reply

 
