Bookmark with Love

My man gave me this special bookmark during our date after I came back from China.

"Shoot for the moon, even if you miss, you'll land among the stars." - Les Brown

The quote reminds me not to give up and continue reaching for my dream.

To the stars! ūüôā

~ by Stella's Gaze on May 10, 2011.

5 Responses to “Bookmark with Love”

  1. It’s a pretty sentiment but show’s the author has no astronomical knowledge. I don’t think even medieval people thought the stars are closer than the moon. Much easier to get to the moon than any star (even our own Sun!) isn’t it?

  2. Hmm.. maybe he knows that the moon is closer to the earth and you don’t have to go too far (stars are too far away!) to reach for your dreams? Hahaha! It’s just a metaphor. ūüôā

  3. Hehe. There’s this song I really like that goes: “More faithful than the sun to rise, the stars to shine, the seasons change You are, You are
    More certain than the moon to cast a light, The tides to turn again You are, You are”
    But it bothers me because I know the sun doesn’t rise in the poles sometimes and the moon doesn’t cast a light during the new moon (unless earthshine counts) so every time I sing it, the inaccuracies niggle at me.

    • It always cast a light…perhaps elsewhere for someone else to see it. Remember that the song says HE is more faithful. HE is ALWAYS Faithful.

      • Hey Joy, you know what, you’re right about that! I’d have preferred for the author to use the sun for that phrase though because it actually does cast light while the moon only reflects it. The moon however, does rise every day everywhere, just at different times so their places would be better interchanged even if it might make less sense to the layman. ūüėÄ

Leave a Reply

 
