Dec. 21, 2010 Partial Lunar Eclipse Observation and Images

The sight of  the moon near the horizon has always been my dream to image. Last Tuesday night, God gave me this opportunity – I witnessed the partially eclipsed moon rising above the mountain ranges in the northeastern part of Metro Manila.

The Dec. 21st lunar eclipse in the Philippines was only partial (Philippine observers would only witness the last stages of the eclipse) and started as soon as the moon rose at 5:32pm.

I observed the phenomenon in Mandaluyong City, Philippines with my boyfriend and a friend. At 5:30pm, we already lost hope of seeing the lunar eclipse due to thick cloud cover. However, after 10 minutes, I caught a glimpse of a bright reddish light coming out of the clouds.  It was the eclipsed moon and I knew then we would be able to witness the last stages of the Dec. 21st total lunar eclipse. We observed from 5:30pm until 5:55pm.

My images were taken without a tripod (Yes, I forgot to bring my tripod, haha!). Luckily, I found a spot where I could image the eclipsed moon with my camera in a stable position. I thank God for gravity and friction, haha!

Below are my images taken using a Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi with a Canon EFS 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS lens:

a glimpse of the eclipsed moon

And a number of lunar eclipse images by Filipino amateur astronomers and astronomy enthusiasts:

Kathleen Rosario of UP Astronomical Society; Ortigas, Pasig City, Philippines

Azrael Coladilla; Cavite, Philippines

Laysa Salonga of UP Los Banos Astronomical Society

John Nassr; Baguio City, Philippines

Dr. Armando Lee of ALP; Taguig City, Philippines

James Kevin Ty of ALP; Laoag City, Ilocos Norte, Philippines

 

~ by Stella's Gaze on December 22, 2010.

4 Responses to “Dec. 21, 2010 Partial Lunar Eclipse Observation and Images”

  1. thanks for the feature!!
    pareho tayo lahat ng experience..maulap🙂

  2. Amazing pictures!

  3. WOW.. that’s all i can say..

Leave a Reply

 
