Dec. 1, 2010 Night Sky Observation

I was so amazed by the unusual clarity of the night sky last Nov. 30 until dawn of Dec. 1. Looking at the number of stars,  I could say the sky has a limiting magnitude of 4.  The sight of  the winter constellations and 3 bright meteors ( 1 fireball at 4:00 am , 2 bright yellow streaks at 4:10 am and 4:35 am) amid strong light pollution, enticed me to observe for hours and avoid sleep.

Orion meets the City

In the evening, as soon as I saw again this unusual sky condition outside my office, I immediately drove back home to get my 8-inch telescope (This wouldn’t be possible without my boyfriend’s help. Thanks you so much!) and went straight to the Manila Observatory.

The Dec. 1 night sky was as clear as the other night. Only this time, I wasn’t alone looking at the stars. I observed with my boyfriend and friends at the Manila Observatory using three telescopes ( 8″ dobsonian, 3.5″ Questar, and Galileoscope) to view Jupiter and its moons, Pleiades, and Orion Nebula. Jupiter was everyone’s favorite, especially when viewed through the 8″ dob with 10mm eyepiece with 2x barlow.  It looked so huge!  The Orion Nebula, on the other hand, aroused the group’s curiosity of its origin and chracteristics.

We ended our observation in hopes of experiencing again such rarity in the days to come.

To the stars!

~ by Stella's Gaze on December 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
