Stargazing at the PAGASA Observatory

Click to enlarge

 

My boyfriend and I observed the Leonids with U.P. Astrosoc last Nov. 20, 2010 at the PAGASA Observatory. I also brought with us, Copernicus (my 8 inch dobsonian scope) to see up close the Moon, Saturn and other deep-sky objects such as Pleiades, Orion Nebula and M41 in Canis Major. In 4 hours of meteor observing, he saw two meteors and I saw none. Others saw more than three. Lucky them! ūüôā

Despite the growing light pollution around the observatory, I was able to get a good shot of the western sky. The brighest star in the picture is Sirius, the alpha star in constellation Canis Major. At the far right is constellation Orion, known for its Orion’s belt (three aligned stars) and Orion Nebula (fuzzy pinkish object below the belt). Below Orion is constellation Lepus. It has a ribbon-like shape pattern and its stars are fainter compared to Canis Major and Orion. Take note, I only used an old digital camera with 12 seconds exposure to get this image.

I really miss observing. I miss the times when I still have enough time to stay awake and observe until dawn. Don’t get me wrong but I’m not that old yet, hahaha!

I hope to do more observations soon.

To the stars!

~ by Stella's Gaze on November 29, 2010.

2 Responses to “Stargazing at the PAGASA Observatory”

  1. Always enjoy your posts. Thank you.

  2. Hi, I just want to ask how one can go stargazing in UP Diliman observatory? How do you arrange for this? How much is the fee? Can you arrange for a date any time? Or the observatory opens its doors to the public only during astronomical events? Thanks in advance!!

Leave a Reply

 
