Aug. 13, 2010 Planetary Grouping and Perseid Meteor Shower

I failed to observe the Perseids last night because of an exam the following day. I hope I could still catch a few meteors tonight.

I also didn’t see the planetary grouping due to thick clouds. I only got a chance to see the crescent moon and Venus while driving home. I became ecstatic as soon as I saw the two celestial objects.

Below is a list of GMA’s video news regarding the Perseid Meteor Shower Observation at the PAGASA Observatory last night:

SAKSI: Astronomy enthusiasts await celestial alignment of 4 planets with moon

Note: The reporter mentioned that the conjunction is difficult to see without the use of a telescope. This is not true. The planetary grouping can be seen naked eye.  You need a large field of view to see the arrangement of the planets. Our eyes have a wider field of view compared to telescopes.

SAKSI: Thick clouds might block metro manila view of perseids meteor shower

I’m still hoping for clear skies tonight!

To the stars!

~ by Stella's Gaze on August 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
