Iridescence

While trying to find the moon in broad daylight, I suddenly saw a thin pastel color cloud near the Sun. I viewed it using sunglasses to avoid solar glare. I knew it was an iridescent cloud, but just to make sure, I repeatedly looked at it with and without the sunglasses. I thought that this might be the reason for the unusual cloud color. Later, I took an image to check if it was an indeed an atmospheric phenomenon. No doubt… I just witnessed a cloud iridescence. ūüôā

According to Wikipedia, iridescence in clouds is a diffraction phenomenon when parts of clouds are thin and have similar size droplets. This phenomenon most often occurs close to the sun. ūüôā



~ by Stella's Gaze on June 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
