Eddie, Saturn, and Moon

I’ve been observing the Sun for a month now. Therefore, I was a bit confident that I’m already doing things right

…until yesterday.

The tremendous heat of the Sun almost damaged Eddie (my AstroScan) and the 10mm Kernel eyepiece. I only noticed this as soon as  I smelled something burning.

I got burned too in less than 20 minutes of solar observation, haha.

Summer – with the El Nino phenomenon – is definitely here in the Philippines.

To closely check the problem, I decided to bring home Eddie and test its optics. I used it to observe the waning gibbous moon and Saturn last night. Fortunately, it gave good views of the two celestial objects. On the other hand, the eyepiece could hardly bring Saturn and stars to focus. The defect wasn’t much of a problem but I have to further assess it tonight.

While checking Eddie and the eyepiece, I managed to take beautiful images of the night sky:

Seeing the night sky has surely lessen my worries.

To the stars!

~ by Stella's Gaze on March 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
