Christmas Astro-Camping in Caliraya, Laguna, Philippines

Date: December 19-20, 2009

Location: Caliraya, Laguna, Philippines

Camera used: Canon EOS 450D

Last weekend, my boyfriend and I joined ALP (Astronomical League of the Philippines) in their overnight outing in Caliraya, Laguna.  The location was indeed a suitable place for stargazing –  away from city lights and less light pollution.

We arrived there at 5:00pm and a few minutes later, while setting up our tents and equipment, we saw rainbows! In the evening, strong rains and winds continued all night and  prevented me to use my Astroscan telescope for an observation. At 3:00-3:30 am, the skies started to clear up and I managed to get two wide-field images of the sky. This was my first time to use ISO1600 and full aperture for my images. I couldn’t do that in Quezon City!

This is my first outing with ALP and first out-of-town date with my boyfriend. I am really happy that I saw a number of stars during the Christmas season. It is my best Christmas gift ever. Looking forward for another stargazing adventure with them!

To the stars!

Primary and Secondary Rainbows

Primary (right) and Secondary (left) Rainbows

Ursa Major and Big Dipper; f/4, 1 minute exp, ISO1600

Auriga constellation; f/4, 1 minute exp, ISO1600

The Group - ALPers

~ by Stella's Gaze on December 21, 2009.

3 Responses to “Christmas Astro-Camping in Caliraya, Laguna, Philippines”

  1. Beautiful double rainbow🙂 Wish we could have gotten earlier as well🙂

  2. Hi Stella, how do you get to Caliraya lake. Can we camp? is there a fee? should we make reservations?

    Reb

Leave a Reply

 
