Public Observation of the Leonid Meteor Shower

From U.P. Astronomical Society:

Public Observation of the Leonids Meteor Shower (starting on Nov. 17 at 10pm until early morning of Nov. 18) at the PAGASA SunDeck Observatory, U.P. Diliman Campus, Quezon City.

For this year, the Leonids’ peak meteor activity is in Asia! Better not miss this!

Happy meteor observing, everyone!

Clear Skies!

~ by Stella's Gaze on November 16, 2009.

9 Responses to “Public Observation of the Leonid Meteor Shower”

  1. Nov.18, 3am-430am, Cebu City – clear skies but not much of a show. only 1 fireball and a couple of shooting stars. disappointing.

    • Hello Jason!

      In my area, I only saw 14 meteors from 2am-5am – 2 fireballs and the rest were streaks. A fellow amateur astronomer, who owns a mini observatory at SM MOA, saw 81 Leonids as of 5:15 am. The SM MOA turned their lights off at 12midnight for the event. Lucky him, hahaha!ūüėÄ

      It’s really hard to do a meteor observation in a very light-polluted urban area.

  2. Hullo! I observed at PAGASA in UP from around 11:45 pm to 1:30 am and I saw 10 meteors. Two qualify as fireballs (and orange in color) and the rest were faint and fast.

    Would have loved to stay until dawn if only I could take a leave at work but I had an early morning meeting.

  3. Oh my…i thought they will show up at midnight. I observed around 11:30-12 midnight and 1-1:45am and I only saw 7 meteorites. But it’s okay, at least I had seen that much for an hour. hehehe
    Is it really true that these showed up best around 5 am?

  4. harhar, patingin ng meteorites na nakita mo! hehe. (i’m sure you meant meteors.)

  5. I thought this whole thing was over.. I just saw one fireball today and i’m here in cebu. that’s why i researched what was that I saw cause I’m not really an expert on this thing.

Leave a Reply

 
