Venus-Moon Conjunction

Close pairing of the crescent Moon and Venus in the eastern sky

Close pairing of the crescent Moon and Venus in the eastern sky

In the Philippines,  the crescent Moon and Venus will appear close together in the eastern sky at 4:00 am (Philippine Standard Time) on August 18, 2009.

Observing this celestial sight is a great way to start the day!

Clear Skies, everyone!🙂

~ by Stella's Gaze on August 17, 2009.

6 Responses to “Venus-Moon Conjunction”

  1. I live in Kagoshima City, Japan and awoke early this morning and at 4am I just happened to look out my window and was astounded to see a very bright, shiny star next to a thin creasant moon, alone in the dark sky. It was so beautiful and I felt God was blessing me. I searched the internet to find out what it was. Other sites told me it was a sign of the false Christ or a sign of a one world teacher coming soon. I was so relieved to read your factual information! Thank you. God Bless You.

  2. Hi Erica, sorry to hear you missed the conjunction. When is the next one? Did you get to see the August solar eclipse? My students and I saw a 98% eclipse from our neighborhood park! It was cloudy weather, but it the clouds moved just in time togive us a perfect view for five minutes or so. It was awesome! Some stupid people tried to look at it without solar glasses! Oh my!

    Thank you for creating such a beautiful website.

    • Me and my colleagues in UP Astrosoc went to Shanghai, China last month to observe the total solar eclipse. We failed to see the eclipse due to cloud covering, but we were able to feel the shadow. It would be completely different if we actually saw the totality. You were so lucky to witness it because it was only a once in a lifetime event.🙂

      The next conjunction of the crescent Moon and Venus will be on September 17 at 5 am in the morning🙂. Look east🙂.

  3. Thanks for the info! Happy skygazing!

Leave a Reply

 
