One Sunny Day

As soon as I saw the sunlight peeking through my window, I immediately prepared my Astroscan telescope and other accessories to observe the sun. I’ve been waiting for this day where the sky was good enough to practice solar observation for the upcoming total solar eclipse on July 22.

According to this article, there are two ways to safely view the sun:  through a projection or use solar filters. Out of enthusiasm and curiosity, I tried both methods this day.

At 9:30 am, I observed Sol through a projection. Here’s my setup:

Solar observation setup

The projected image of the sun

Seeing the projected image of the sun really made my day.  Thank God the skies finally cleared up after weeks of heavy rain shower and gave me this perfect opportunity.

Afterwards, I used a small piece of Mylar filter that I bought from ALP to directly view the sun. I also asked Ate Rose, who always accompany me in my observations, to see the sun for herself. She was in awe.

Ate Rose using the Mylar filter

Lastly, I  observed the sun through my 6″ inch scope with a homemade solar filter. Unfortunately, this filter has already rust spots which make it unsafe  for telescope use.  But because I really wanted to see the sun in this method, I covered the spots with snopake (which was still risky) and decided to proceed. At 1:00pm, the intense heat and cloud cover made it difficult for me to continue my solar observation.

I only have a few days left before I leave for Shanghai, China. This one day practice doesn’t include the proper setup for solar imaging. I’m still hoping for another one day where I could experiment the camera with the scope to get the right image exposures of the sun.

I wish the UP Astrosoc Total Solar Eclipse Expedition team goodluck in our journey and God speed! I know we can do this! Ad Astra Per Aspera!

~ by Stella's Gaze on July 15, 2009.

2 Responses to “One Sunny Day”

  1. […] We are reprinting this article from The Sky Above, an astronomy weblog by UP Astrosoc member Erika Valdueza. You can read the original article here. […]

  2. […] is my first time to observe and image a sunspot. I used projection method to safely view the […]

Leave a Reply

 
