Virga or Fall Streaks

Camera: Canon EOS 450D
Location: Hackensack, New Jersey

I love clouds. Especially the ones you don’t get to see everyday.

My sister and I were at the parking lot when I saw this weird hairlike cloud. I’ve never seen one in the Philippines even though it rains a lot there.

I decided to take pictures of it and asked Les Cowley, an atmospheric phenomenon expert, about the cloud formation. According to him, they are precipitation from clouds that evaporate before reaching the ground. In my case, it looks like rain but it can be snow or ice crystals from higher clouds.

All I could say was… Wow.

~ by Stella's Gaze on May 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
