In Galileo’s Footsteps

Inspired by two Astronomy blogs I’ve read about observing Jupiter, I checked the Sky and Telescope.com website and Stellarium to see Jupiter’s Great Red Spot (GRS) transit times and positions of Galilean moons from August 25 to August 29. I wasn’t sure if I could get a clear view of the GRS in my AstroScan and NERT but I wanted to give it a try. If the weather cooperates, the earliest time I would be able to observe the GRS is at 1:29 am PST (Philippine Standard Time) of August 27. I also found out that on August 26 to 27, there would be a lot of transits, occultations and eclipses that will occur among the moons of Jupiter.

Here’s the list of events:

Tuesday August 26, 2008 to Wednesday August 27, 2008

6:30 pm,  Ganymede begins transit of Jupiter.
9:48 pm , Ganymede ends transit of Jupiter.
9:50 pm , Io begins transit of Jupiter.
10:38 pm , Ganymede’s shadow begins to cross Jupiter.
10:52 pm , Io’s shadow begins to cross Jupiter.
10:52 pm , ** A multi-shadow transit event begins. **
1:06 am  Io ends transit of Jupiter.
2:10 am, Io’s shadow leaves Jupiter’s disk.
2:10 am ** The multi-shadow transit event ends. **
3:04 am  Ganymede’s shadow leaves Jupiter’s disk.

Wednesday evening, August 27, 2008 to Thursday, August 28, 2009
6:58 pm, Io enters occultation behind Jupiter.
10:18 pm , Io exits eclipse by Jupiter’s shadow.
2:12 am, Europa enters occultation behind Jupiter.

Notes: If you want to see an animation of the events, visit the link above.
All times are in Philippine Standard Time (PST).

It was raining hard while writing this entry. It was as if someone was telling me not to continue my observation tonight.
I’m not giving up without a fight wahaha! I haven’t tried observing the Galilean moons – their transits and eclipses – so this would be my first time.

Ad Astra Per Aspera!

~ by Stella's Gaze on August 26, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
