S.E.E. — Solar Eclipse Experience

The Sky & Tel observers recounted their adventures as they witnessed the solar eclipse last August 1, 2008. Anthony Ayiomamitis captured amazing photos of the totality, Sun’s corona and diamond ring effect on the rooftop of his University in Russia. Alan Dyer together with fellow eclipse chasers, rode an aircraft to get above the cloudtops in the Canadian Arctic. Emily Lakdawalla briefly discussed the August 1 Solar Eclipse from Space viewed by satellites.

*******************************************************************************************************************

I also have something to share – A Solar Eclipse Experience from the Internet.

I was really speechless as I witnessed the totality over the Internet, most especially when it ended in a grand finale – showing off the beautiful diamond ring effect. Seeing it gave me goose bumps. More so, I actually saw two diamond ring effect; one in Russia and the other in China, haha. Thanks to satellite technology I can watch the solar eclipse twice without going to one location to another. This was also my first time to see a total solar eclipse and I got two views without spending money, hahaha. I thank those who sponsored the live webcast of the eclipse.

I was with my friends while watching the live webcast in China and Russia. They too were amazed and their jaws dropped at the sight of the corona and the diamond ring effect. After the show, they kept asking me when will we see another total solar eclipse in the Philippines. I have actually no idea. When I researched about it, the next total solar eclipse in our country will be on April 20, 2042. I hope I’m still alive by that time, hahaha! The last occurrence of the total solar eclipse here was last October 24, 1995.

I know you’ll tell me I’m weird when you see my pictures of the eclipse stages over the Internet. I just can’t help it. I want to savor every moment though I only saw the dramatic event via the Internet. At least, they were my pictures. I was the one who took those pictures, hahaha!

Here are my images of the live-eclipse.org webcast (now, now… don’t laughūüėõ ):

Totality & Corona

Totality & Corona

The Diamond Ring Effect

The Diamond Ring Effect

D.

It's so beautifulūüėÄ.

For those who failed to see the total solar eclipse live, you can watch the eclipse replay at http://www.exploratorium.edu/eclipse/2008/.

If you want to learn more about eclipses – how and why they happen, I recommend the following links:

http://www.shadowandsubstance.com/

http://www.mreclipse.com/Special/SEprimer.html

That’s all for now. Until next solar eclipse!ūüėÄ

~ by Stella's Gaze on August 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
