The Moon Two Days before the Solar Eclipse

At 3:26 PST (Philippine Standard Time), I saw the waning crescent moon rising before my eyes. I was really amazed by its gentle glow and the earthshine. Not only was I mesmerized by its beauty but the fact that it will eclipse the Sun two days from now excites me.

Earthshine is reflected Earthlight visible on the Moon’s night side. It is usually visible during a waxing/waning crescent phase of the moon.

Luckily, I was able to get a few good pictures of the thin crescent moon and earthshine :D.

Here are my images of the thin crescent moon (Right click to enlarge image):

Equipment used: 8.0 megapixel Olympus FE-250 digital camera and 6″ NERT

~ by Stella's Gaze on July 30, 2008.

One Response to “The Moon Two Days before the Solar Eclipse”

  1. you have some fantastic pictures here.

    http://www.costech.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

 
