Sundogs

Last June 6, my family and I went out for a three hour drive to Atlantic City, New Jersey.  During our stop over, a rainbow-like spot beside the setting sun caught my attention. I was so excited because as soon as I saw it, I knew what it was – a sundog!

A sundog is part of a Sun halo, an atmospheric phenomenon where tiny ice crystals in cirrus or cirrostratus clouds refract and reflect sunlight. Sundogs are found on each side of the sun.

The Sun halo that day wasn’t visible. Only the two sundogs were observable and gave me an estimate on the size of the halo. It was a 22 degree halo.

Refer to this site http://www.atoptics.co.uk/halosim.htm to see a visual diagram of the Sun halo.

Of course, I won’t let this awesome scenery pass without getting images of it.

Check out my pictures:
Sundog at the left side of the sun
Sundog at the left of the sun (2)
Sundog at the right of the sun
Watching the sky is really fun! It surely has a lot of surprises😀.

~ by Stella's Gaze on June 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
