Reunited with Edmund

Yep, reunited with my AstroScan telescopeūüôā

My dad bought this cute, shiny-red, portable, Newtonian reflector telescope last October 2007. It was only yesterday that I’ve opened it and saw it for real.

AstroScan is not a typical telescope we know of. The optical tube has a big rounded shape at its end where it houses the parabolic mirror. Also, this thing doesn’t have a mount. The base and the rounded shape end of the optical tube provide a ball and socket movement. Thus, it’s very easy to use and I definitely recommend this telescope for children and beginners.

I don’t have good and clear skies here in my place so I don’t know when I can test its optics. For the meantime, I placed it in our living room to see visitors’ reactions…ūüôā.

~ by Stella's Gaze on May 4, 2008.

3 Responses to “Reunited with Edmund”

  1. […] rainbows! In the evening, strong rains and winds continued all night and¬† prevented me to use my Astroscan telescope for an observation. At 3:00-3:30 am, the skies started to clear up and I managed to get two […]

  2. […] brought Eddie (my cute little red Astroscan telescope) with me and used it to show the moon and Jupiter to the students, while Genie demonstrated to them […]

  3. […] brought Eddie (my cute little red Astroscan telescope) with me and used it to show the moon and Jupiter to the students; while Genie demonstrated to them […]

Leave a Reply

 
