Binoculars and SkyWatching

Last April 14, I observed the night sky using a pair of 7×50 binoculars. It was funny to think that I first used a telescope to navigate the night sky before a pair of binoculars. In practice, it should be the other way around.

Aside from the fact that they are cheaper than telescopes, binoculars are handy, easy to use equipment, and don’t stress you out if want to bring them out from place to place (telescopes are definitely heavier and bulkier than binoculars). They also provide a wide field of view of the night sky which is an advantage, especially for budding astronomers in locating celestial objects.

So, if you want to familiar yourself with the night sky using binoculars (which I truly recommend before going to telescopes), visit the following sites regarding Binocular Astronomy:

http://www.skyandtelescope.com/howto/visualobserving/3304256.html

http://www.lightandmatter.com/binosky/binosky.html

While searching for Messier objects using my binoculars in the constellation Sagittarius and Scorpius, I noticed a massive cloud covering in the eastern and southeastern direction. Lightning was frequent in these directions. An idea suddenly dawned on me and I instinctively turned on my digital camera, mounted on a tripod. I realized that I haven’t taken any images of lightning so I decided to give it try.

I was able to get this image during my second try:

Lightning

After this, I tried several times to get another image, but I failed.

It was definitely an awesome and tiring day. Though my life recently was on rocks (no pun intended haha!), the sky has never failed to cheer me up. It always makes my life complete.

~ by Stella's Gaze on April 15, 2008.

One Response to “Binoculars and SkyWatching”

  1. […] am also fascinated with lightning. My first lightning shot was taken 2 years ago. I’m hoping to get more […]

Leave a Reply

 
