Venus, Mercury and Jupiter in the Morning Skies

Before I prepared for my Geophysics exam, I decided to go up and check out the skies at 5 am.

I stood in awe as I stared at the celestial beauty of the three planets. But what really struck me the most was that… I actually saw Mercury.

According to books and blogs I’ve read about Mercury, it is the hardest planet to spot with the naked eye because it is close to the sun. But earlier this month, the planet had its greatest elongation where it was farthest from the sun. This month is the best time to observe the planet.

Luckily, our roof deck faces the east, southeast, south and southwest part of the sky. This vantage point (with clear skies, of course) gave me a clear view of Mercury together with Venus rising in the east this week.

Speak of being at the right place at the right time, hehe.

Ad Astra Per Aspera!

Here’s a video of my observation:

Currently feeling: sleepy

~ by Stella's Gaze on March 14, 2008.

One Response to “Venus, Mercury and Jupiter in the Morning Skies”

  1. […] been observing the Mercury-Venus conjunction since 2008 but I’ve never seen Mercury this high! Such an amazing view despite the poor weather and […]

Comments are closed.

 
