Mercury, Finally

I saw Mercury for the first time at 5:27 am of March 12, Wednesday. It was truly an unbelievable sight.

Mercury had its greatest elongation last March 3 which makes this month the best time to observe the planet.

At first, I had mistaken it for Venus, hehe. It was the only bright object I could see in the east so I told myself it’s Venus; just a lot dimmer due to hazy clouds. Minutes later, I got surpised by a sudden appearance of a much brighter object from clouds at its lower left. It was Venus! It was only then that I realized what I was actually observing from 5:10 to 5:27 am was Mercury.

This planet was brighter than I expected.

Currently feeling: happy

~ by Stella's Gaze on March 13, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
