22º Halo around the Moon

I went outside early this morning to observe the Moon and Saturn. While observing, I noticed an unusual set of clouds below them. I had an idea that something extraordinary would happen when I saw an arc-like pattern in the clouds.
The halo is starting to show up.

I was sure that it was a halo, even though only half of its form was visible. Halos are formed due to ice crystals which are usually associated with thin cirrus clouds. As I took pictures of the semi-circle halo, I saw its gradual completion – it became a 22º circular halo! It even had Moon and Saturn within the halo. What a breathtaking view!

A 22 degree lunar halo
lunar halo
upper part of halo
Two contrails also appeared and added beauty to the large and less colorful lunar 22 degree halo! This was the first time ever I saw such an awesome atmospheric phenomenon.
contrail

The images were shot with the Olympus FE-250 Digital Camera mounted on a tripod.

Visit this site to know more about 22 degree halo: http://www.atoptics.co.uk/halo/circular.htm

Currently feeling: thankful

~ by Stella's Gaze on December 30, 2007.

One Response to “22º Halo around the Moon”

  1. […] Degree Lunar Halo and Lunar Corona I saw the moon surrounded by a 22 degree lunar halo and lunar corona last night! I used my 8 megapixel Olympus FE-250 digital camera to take images of […]

Leave a Reply

 
