Jupiter and Venus over Cityscape

My view of the Jupiter-Venus conjunction above Quezon City, Philippines from March 4 to March 11, 2012:

Venus and Jupiter last March 4, 2012

Venus and Jupiter on March 8, 2012.

Venus and Jupiter on March 11, 2012.

I am hoping that I’ll be able to witness the 3 degrees separation of the two planets from March 13-15, 2012. This is the closest pairing of the brightest planets in the sky this year.

Clear skies and happy observing! :)

~ by Stella's Gaze on March 13, 2012.

3 Responses to “Jupiter and Venus over Cityscape”

  1. Erika,

    I wanted to express how much I enjoyed your blog post titled “Jupiter and Venus over Cityscape” (on March 13, 2012) and in especially, your photographs of the Philippine sky including the planetary conjunction.
    Venus during this particular time will be eight times brighter than usual making this an exceptional time to capture one of Jupiter’s four largest moons with a telescope.
    This special view has more to know with our eyes’ perception than you might think. Buried deep in the human eye, in the center of the retina is the fovea. The fovea is responsible for viewing life in high definition (sharp and clear), much like watching a large flat screen television. The fovea has a depth of five degrees, which will make this three degree separation of Venus and Jupiter even more spectacular and larger than life.

    Did you have any special plans for the rest of the conjunction this week?

    I wanted to share with you a video about the Jupiter and Venus conjunction that I think you will find interesting and supplemental to your coverage of this out of this world phenomenon. I hope you enjoy it, as I included the link below.

    “Venus and Jupiter Set for Cosmic Meet Up”

    http://www.newsy.com/videos/venus-and-jupiter-set-for-cosmic-meetup/

    I hope you will embed this video into your blog and maybe in the future, we could swap blog roll links and widgets.

    The clip does a great job of concisely sourcing and compiling news reports to emphasize the scope and context the content being reported on. Newsy synthesizes and analyzes news into neutral comprehensive video clips showing a variety of opinions on the story.

    Thank you so much for your time and consideration. I look forward to working with you in the future,

    Lyndsey Garza
    Community for Newsy
    Twitter: @newsyvideos
    http://www.facebook.com/newsyvideos

    • Hi Lyndsey!

      Thank you so much for the kind words and sharing the video, “Venus and Jupiter Set for Cosmic Meet Up”. I will definitely embed it for my next post about Jupiter and Venus-conjunction. As of now, I only plan to observe the close pairing this week from my location. The weather lately is not good so I decided not to visit other places to see and image the astronomical event. Please do contact me if I can be of help to Newsy.

      Thank you and I look forward to hear from you soon.

      Best Regards,
      Erika

  2. Saturn and venus side to side tonight. Very bright. 03.13.2012 8:45 cst

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 630 other followers

