Venus and Uranus

I saw Neptune last month because of its close encounter with Venus in the sky. Last night, using the same method, I saw Uranus for the first time!

I only took wide-angle shots using afocal method. Venus and Uranus were viewed within the field of view (FOV) of my telescope. This means that the planets were only less than a degree apart.

Below is the most decent image I can get with my setup:

You can still observe the close pairing of the planets until Feb. 15, 2012. You will need a pair of binoculars or telescope to do this. Venus is already visible around 5:30pm and it is the brightest of the two star-like objects in the western sky  – the other one is Jupiter which is located above Venus.

I am so happy that I’ve finally seen all the 8 major planets with my own eyes and through the aid of telescopes. It’s an accomplishment! I hope you too would like to try this endeavor. :)

Clear skies, everyone and happy observing!

~ by Stella's Gaze on February 12, 2012.

One Response to “Venus and Uranus”

  1. Congratulations! I saw Venus and Uranus with my 15 X 70 binoculars on Thursday night. I just want to add that our solar system has far more than eight major planets. Counting Ceres, Pluto, Charon, Haumea, Makemake, Eris, and three yet unnamed dwarf planets discovered in 2011–none of which are “minor planets,” which is another term for asteroids, our solar system has 17 major planets, two protoplanets (Vesta and Pallas) and counting.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 632 other followers

