A Night of Passion

As soon as I saw Jim Paredes’ announcement over Tumblr, my heart skipped and I became ecstatic. Before I knew it, I was writing.

I am a moody writer and usually it will take me days before I can settle myself to write and finish an essay. Not the day when I read Jim Paredes’ Night of Passion. I wrote a 7-paragraph essay (with breaks in between) in less than 3 hours.  For me, that’s already a world record hahaha!

I never consider myself a writer, but on that day… who cares. All I can think of was to grab the opportunity to meet  Mr. Jim Paredes, get out of my shell (I’m a very shy person), talk to random people, and share to them my lifelong passion.

When the result was announced, I was very very happy. I now have a chance to share astronomy to people outside science and hear various stories outside the scientific world!

To my surprise, Mr. Jim Paredes has a good grasp of basic astrophysics. He asked me about extraterrestrials, wormholes, space warp, and parallel universes. He also shared to us  his amazement on Bill Bryson’s A Short History of Everything ( I also have a copy, but I haven’t finished reading it yet!). Moreover, he owns a telescope and has a Google Sky Map application installed on his Samsung Galaxy phone. I was dumbfounded. He’s also an astronomy enthusiast. What a man!

My fellow passionate people were also curious about Astronomy and, at first, they thought Astrology was also Astronomy. This is a common misconception of many. I just explained to them that Astronomy is a study of celestial objects while Astrology focuses on relating the movement of celestial bodies to human behavior.

Things I learned from them that I’ll always keep it mind: spend time traveling, passion makes you alive, you’re not your ego, and “if you find your Buddha, kill him!”.

Most importantly, the Night of Passion has inspired me to pursue and fight for what I love to do. I really love Astronomy. It is my fuel. It is my life. God must have answered my prayers when I started to doubt my passion a month ago. He led me to meet these passionate people and showed me that I’m not alone in my journey.

Thank you Jim and the group for the experience!

I look forward to bond with them again soon. Let’s go for part 2, guys!

To the stars!

Read more stories about our Night of Passion Experience:

A Night of Passion (Philippine Star Article)by Jim Paredes

8 Random People by Aicca

Astronomy, Baby Butanding, and other things by Jumax

~ by Stella's Gaze on November 28, 2010.

3 Responses to “A Night of Passion”

  1. I had fun too! Thanks for sharing your genius.. We have to meet again! :)

  2. I miss you!!!! :)

  3. miss you too! see you soon! :D

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 392 other followers

